Book Review: Servicing the Target by Cherise Sinclair

Servicing the Target by Cherise Sinclair CoverServicing the Target
Author: Cherise Sinclair
Pages: 340
Publisher: Evil Eye Concepts, Incorporated
Release Date: July 28th 2015
Series: Masters of the Shadowlands #10




About the Book
A discharged Army Ranger, Ben considers his job as a BDSM club security guard to be an excellent hobby. He’s never been tempted to join in. But everything changes when the notorious Mistress Anne inadvertently reveals the caring heart concealed beneath her Domme armor.

Now, he’s set his sights on the beautiful Shadowlands Mistress. Maybe he’d considered himself vanilla, but she can put her stiletto on his chest any day, any time. He’ll trust her delicate hands to hold his heart. And if she wants to whip his ass on the way to an outstanding climax, he’s just fine with that too.

Sure, he knows she likes “pretty boy” slaves. And he’s older. Craggy and rough. And six-five. Minor hindrances. The mission is a go.

Our Review
Every time I read a Club Shadowlands book, it leaves me with mixed feelings. Now wait for a second while I explain. I love the series, absolutely adore. When reading theses I have a clear fuck off sign on my forehead indicating to leave me alone while I read, the consequences could be deadly. However the series makes me sad and disappointed because I do not know of a real life club like this nor do I know anything like this near me. So I am reading these and falling in love with new things, new discoveries, and new things to try and bam no place to go like this.

Each book in the series quickly becomes my favorite, I can’t help it. Cherise Sinclair well she is fucking awesome, just when you think there is no way she could top my love for the characters in this book – BAM she does. Mistress Anne, I had come to be terrified of her from previous books. Not that I don’t love a good sadist, but man she is overwhelming. There is so much to her as a Domme, that you figure you have her figured out a Domme pure and simple. However, like Shrek said “Dom/Dommes are like onions they have layers. The only pure glimpse you had gotten was when the subs decided to put plastic bugs in her locker.

Then there is Ben, good ol vanilla Ben…well at least that is what he has been shown as. It was shown that he has a heart of gold and will protect anyone that needs it without a second thought. Learning more about him was also a treat it was enlightening to show a book with a military male sub. Because as in other books about the other Doms, most of the military boys are Dominant in ALL ways. Ben however he is the answer to both worlds and it’s a hard lesion. You can take the boy out of the military but you can’t take the military out of the boy – but it’s the man that adds his past as a growing trait. There are times that bless his soul he was Mr. Macho I protect you Ann, not because he didn’t think she couldn’t do it but because he had those southern boy manners. The dance of D/s relationship between Ben and Ann was absolutely mesmerizing to shadow.

Ann has no shortage of rage and issues with men, oh she thinks the other male Doms are great but she’ll be damned if she lets a man try to run her needs and wants. There is a bit of this I had an issue with not because I didn’t understand it but because it gave in a bit to people in the lifestyle are only there because of mommy/daddy issues. Of course that isn’t why she is but it did shape who she is. However don’t all experiences in life shape what we do, it doesn’t mean we are victims of it. It means that it became a puzzle piece in the greater scheme of things. Ann finds peace in control. She finds peace in knowing exactly what she expects out of herself and those who she associates herself with. She finds peace by being able to provide a stick in which to measure them and find themselves. She is a sadist she is not an abuser. She lets her previous subs and Ben as well know there is a safe word, there is an out if at any point in time this is not what they want. She lets them know what her expectations are and then they can decide whether or not they want to attempt to live up to them. While I found the Domme side of Ann absolutely entrancing, it’s the day to day Ann I adored.

We came to find out her day job as a bailsman to say, she was in the Marines then cops then catching people who skipped bail. She gets shit in every role she is in, for the simple fact she is someone’s daughter, has tits and a vagina. She loves showing the boys just because of anatomy differences doesn’t mean I still can’t do the same things or kick their ass. She is concise in every aspect from catching the men that beat their wives to the relaxing with songs on her back porch while playing saxophone. A saxophone oh yeah you read that right, it took me a step back too, there are hundreds of instruments and she is a modern Kenny G but with a better personality and sexuality. (well to me anyway).

Then Ben, I warn you Ben will break your heart. He will make you cry, well hell both of them will make you cry. Ben though has a very dark past full of the shadows most people have only heard about in whispers. Discovering all the things I did in this book, which I won’t mention, because well you need to feel the emotional rollercoaster too, made me go back and restart the series and first meeting Ben. It makes you look at all his actions and responses differently.

Of course Master Z and Jessica are in here with the delivery of their baby! The whole scene cracked me up and I mean like I was sitting there reading this giggling while getting strange glances. Jessica has labor, in purely Jessica fashion. Poor Master Z….just kidding – no sympathy felt. We subs with brat tendencies gotta have our fun when we can, even if it’s just making the Dom sweat a bit. There is also Kim and master Raoul – who have grown in so many different ways. Remembering where Kim was when she was first capture and then seeing where she is at now, it shows love and compassion heals all things. BDSM unlike what many people think can heal you. It can heal your heart, your soul and your body. Their relationship helps Ben see many things and come to terms with some things as well. It shows him what he wants and doesn’t want. It shows what he is willing to bend on and what he can’t. His submissiveness is interesting in comparison to many of the other couples. It’s different and uniquely his and Mistress Ann’s. Other people have zero room to room to force what they think or feel Ann/Ben’s relationship should be. Both of them are adults and will have to find their way kicking and screaming their own way.

There are so many things I wish I could pinpoint and go “This was….” But I can’t because that’s unfair to you and to Cherise Sinclair. She put her soul into this book, she put her time and it deserves to be fully explored without any *spoilers* regardless of how much I am busting to share them. Once you read them and finish this book, you will agree. You will nod and go thank you. How is this compared to the other books, I can’t compare it going I like this better than all the others, I can go it is absofuckinlutely AMAZING.

Now allow me to go off in a corner while I am jonesing for more Shadowlands and trying to find my own….


Our Rating stars_solid_large_pinkstars_solid_large_pinkstars_solid_large_pinkstars_solid_large_pinkstars_solid_large_pink

Add to Goodreads

Buy It Now AmazonBarnes & Noble



About the Author
Cherise Sinclair Author PhotoA USA Today bestselling author, she’s renowned for writing heart-wrenching romances with laugh-out-loud dialogue, devastating Dominants, and absolutely sizzling sex. And did I mention the BDSM? Her awards include a National Leather Award, Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice nomination, and Best Author of the Year from the Goodreads BDSM group.

Fledglings having flown the nest, Cherise, her beloved husband, and one fussy feline live in the Pacific Northwest where nothing is cozier than a rainy day spent writing.

Connect with Cherise AmazonFacebookGoodreadsPinterestTwitterWebpage
What Did Ya Think?

