Book Review: The Liar by Nora Roberts

The Liar by Nora Roberts CoverThe Liar
Author: Nora Roberts
Pages: 514
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Release Date: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Series: No
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC

Shelby Foxworth lost her husband. Then she lost her illusions …

The man who took her from Tennessee to an exclusive Philadelphia suburb left her in crippling debt. He was an adulterer and a liar, and when Shelby tracks down his safe-deposit box, she finds multiple IDs. The man she loved wasn’t just dead. He never really existed.

Shelby takes her three-year-old daughter and heads south to seek comfort in her hometown, where she meets someone new: Griff Lott, a successful contractor. But her husband had secrets she has yet to discover. Even in this small town, surrounded by loved ones, danger is closer than she knows—and threatens Griff, as well. And an attempted murder is only the beginning …


Our Review:
*spoiler free*
I’ve been a fan of Nora Roberts since I snuck in reading one at my aunt’s house. I think I was around 13 or 14. I was an advanced reader; my mom would have to write special letters to the schools and local libraries to let me check out the “adult” books.

Nora Roberts has never let me down with a book and this one was no exception. I started this after reading another book that made me so angry if I had the physical book I would have thrown it. The Liar though was refreshing. It was everything I’ve always come to expect from Nora Roberts, a trip inside the book and outside of my life. I was sucked in from the very beginning. There was never a time where I would skip parts of a chapter because I thought it was boring, I read every single word. I devoured this book.

Shelby is a strong woman emotionally and I admired her so much in this novel. There are things she encountered, I don’t know if I could deal with nearly as well as her. Even when things kept pouring on in bad news, she did what she needed to do and with a brave face. Her family though is what really made me love this book. They are amazing and very dedicated to one another. Not one person in the family ever has to face things alone. There is always someone standing by them and supporting them.

Chris Evans as GriffThen there is Griff. He is absolutely adorable and easy to fall in love with. I had this picture of Chris Evans as Griff. I am not sure where that image came from but for some reading while reading him, that is who I could see being that guy. I suspect him being a great guy in Captain America had something to do with it. There are a lot of guys who can’t handle widowed women with children and then all the baggage Shelby has, but Griff well he has his mind focused on being with Shelby.

Shelby’s dead husband is a pure asshole. I thought man I couldn’t hate this guy anymore, then I would find something else out about him and go man what a waste of air and I’m glad he’s gone! It made me think of the Dixie Chicks song about Earl had to die, only it was Richard had to die. The things that start popping up after Richard’s death, was the perfect amount of suspense. It was easy to imagine people having secrets and willing to do anything to keep those secrets or become something else because of those secrets. There is so much interaction between all the characters in this book, that it’s mind blowing. It feels like they were real people to me and I actually knew them instead of just being characters in a book.
There was humor, sarcasm, fun, suspense and romance in the perfect amounts.


Add to Goodreads

Buy It NowAmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoogle PlayKobo



Our Rating: stars_solid_large_pinkstars_solid_large_pinkstars_solid_large_pinkstars_solid_large_pinkstars_solid_large_pink

About the Author
Nora Roberts Author PhotoNora Roberts was born in Silver Spring, Maryland, the youngest of five children. After a school career that included some time in Catholic school and the discipline of nuns, she married young and settled in Keedysville, Maryland.

She worked briefly as a legal secretary. “I could type fast but couldn’t spell, I was the worst legal secretary ever,” she says now. After her sons were born she stayed home and tried every craft that came along. A blizzard in February 1979 forced her hand to try another creative outlet. She was snowed in with a three and six year old with no kindergarten respite in sight and a dwindling supply of chocolate.

Born into a family of readers, Nora had never known a time that she wasn’t reading or making up stories. During the now-famous blizzard, she pulled out a pencil and notebook and began to write down one of those stories. It was there that a career was born. Several manuscripts and rejections later, her first book, Irish Thoroughbred, was published by Silhouette in 1981.

Nora met her second husband, Bruce Wilder, when she hired him to build bookshelves. They were married in July 1985. Since that time, they’ve expanded their home, traveled the world and opened a bookstore together.

Connect with NoraBook StoreEmail FacebookPinterestWebsite
What Did Ya Think?

