Question of the Day: What is Fire Cupping?

Short Answer: It’s Freaking AMAZING. However that probably isn’t what you mean.

Fire CuppingBy Definition: Through either heat or suction, the skin is gently drawn upwards by creating a vacuum in a cup over the target area of the skin. The cup stays in place for five to fifteen minutes. It is believed by some to help treat pain, deep scar tissues in the muscles and connective tissue, muscle knots, and swelling.

I’ve had regular cupping (a later discussion) and fire cupping done. It should only be done by someone that knows what they are doing and not by your neighbor Jim Bob who loves fire and has no eyebrows. I had a guy that use to be a medic in the military and that is also into kink, do mine. One thing is if you are going to fire cupping or any fire play, do not use lotion within 24 before you plan to do it. This can cause bad burning that was not intended and it can also cause it to not be as effective. If you have used lotion, let the person know who is doing the cupping. They can determine whether it is safe or not.

cuppingHe showed me there are different intensities. After the first one, I asked for the highest one. You may go are you insane? Well maybe, but I’m a masochist and pain slut. The sensation and possible pain experienced from this is different than stubbing your toe. The intensity is also based on how much skin is drawn up. Little intensity equals only a bit of skin being sucked up. High intensity equals skin being skin up more. The sensation of it being done is interesting. I laid on my stomach, obviously, naked from the butt up. He tried to avoid putting any cups near my tattoos, while I have had them for a while we didn’t want to risk it. He took little disk that had alcohol dropped on them. He would put those on my back. Then a small cotton ball that had alcohol on it. The more suction you want the bigger the cotton ball. You don’t want anything too big though.

After a certain size it just becomes dangerous and it can actually cause the skin to burn. After he lights the ball he puts a cup over it. The lack of oxygen makes the fire go out and draws the skin up into the cup. You can leave it there for as long as you like the sensation. I am not sure how long mine were on there because after a bit I got a bit high from the sensation and lost track of time.

The after result looks like your back had a make-out session with an octopus. It felt great though, it drew up the skin and just relaxes it. There should be no breaking of the skin, if done right. There should also be no blisters, if there are seek professional medical attention. It may resemble a bruise and may be a bit tender afterwards, but I didn’t regret it at all. I wish I still had the picture from when I got done, it was pretty cool. I just had to be careful when I went tubing later on. That would have been interesting to explain. 😀

Would I do it again, You bet! Would I recommend it, YES! This is something that if done by someone who knows what they are doing, can be different for each person. I had a friend go with me who isn’t as much into pain as I am and just got little suction done, so her marks were gone with a day. Mine lasted about a week. As noted some people may have a bit different technique than what I had done.

What Did Ya Think?

